Brass Band News
& Player Vacancies

Contest Results: WWBBA (Burry Port) Contest 2013

Published in Contest on 2013-10-07 by Empty Chairs

More news from West Wales Festival of Brass

With 2013 being the year of Welsh banding it was a celebratory scene in Burry Post for the West Wales Festival of Brass Contest.

The National First Section champions, Tylorstown, took the Championship Section to demonstrate that they are preparing to impress in the Area contest in Llandudno next year. They played ‘Fanfare & Love Songs’, repeating the success in Cheltenham.

Championship Section

Adjudicator: John Doyle

  1. Tylorstown (Gary Davies) - 195
  2. Burry Port (Nigel Seaman) - 192
  3. Abergavenny Borough (Chris Turner) - 191

Best Instrumentalist: Gareth John (Eb tuba) - Burry Port
Best Soprano: Jane Thomas (Burry Port)

First Section

Adjudicator: John Doyle

  1. Llwydcoed (Nigel Seaman) - 187
  2. Lewis Merthyr (Gareth Pritchard) - 185
  3. RAF St Athan (Alan Bourne) - 184

Best Instrumentalist: Darren Morris (euphonium) - Llwydcoed

Second Section

Adjudicator: John Doyle

  1. Goodwick (Matthew Jenkins) - 190
  2. Parc & Dare (Andrew Jones) - 186
  3. Gwaun Cae Gurwen (Malcolm Read) - 184

Best Instrumentalist: Nia Griffiths (soprano) - Gwaun Cae Gurwen

Third Section

Adjudicator: Tom Davoren

  1. City of Cardiff (Melingriffith) M2 (Gareth Ritter)- 186
  2. Abertillery & District (Dean Evans) - 184
  3. Thomas Coaches Mid Rhondda (Alan F Gibbs) - 181

Best Instrumentalist: Richard Killen (Eb tuba) - City of Cardiff (Melingriffith) M2

Fourth Section

Adjudicator: Tom Davoren

  1. Ebbw Valley (Gareth Ritter) - 184
  2. Pontypool Brass (Owen Farr) - 182
  3. Usk Brass (Jeff Jones) - 179

Best Instrumentalist: Nanette Jones (cornet) - Ebbw Valley

Youth Section

Adjudicator: Robert Samuel

Gold Award: Goodwick Youth (Luke Jenkins)
Silver Awards BTM New Generation (Mark Hutcherson) & City of Cardiff (Melingriffith) 3 (Carol Flannary-Davies)
Bronze Award: Crwbin (Catrin Jones)

Junior Ensemble

?Adjudicator: Robert Samuel

Gold Award: BTM Junior (Kristy Davies)

Share the news!
Comment on this article...
comments powered by Disqus

Brass Band CDs

Publish Your Press Release

There are two simple ways to publish your brass band related press releases on Empty Chairs:

  1. Sign up for a free account to self publish, or
  2. Send the release to and we will publish it for you.

Latest News


THREE IN A ROW FOR REDRUTH!!!!   Redruth Town Band have taken their hattrick… read more...

Next On Line radio Broadcast!

Sounds Of Brass (Milton keynes) This weeks show is all about Gustav Holst! Featuring… read more...


All welcome!!  Bring friends and family along as well, will be great to see… read more...


To see over 600 brass musicians of all ages on the march is a… read more...

Department for Education grants BBE national Child Performance Licensing BOPA

Brass Bands England (BBE) is pleased to announce that the Department for Education has… read more...


Brass Band News

About & Admin